Just when you think you have plans…..


My thoughts as I walked into the Coronary ICU, past rooms filled with sleeping individuals, was of how many of them know of the sacrifice that Jesus gave for us on that cross.  How many of them know the coming of the Resurrection.  As I came closer to my Dad’s room, I felt a peace fill my chest.  I think the peace comes because my Dad chose to become a baptized child of God six years ago.  This makes my heart happy.  I wasn’t there to witness it, for I was somewhere else.  Somewhere God knew I needed to be, and today God placed me here for He knew this is where I was  needed.

Sometimes we don’t understand why we are where we are in lives.  As I reflect back on that time six years ago, when I was so many miles away from my Dad and family, adding to my own family, it was difficult for me to be apart from them.  But it was God’s plan.  I didn’t understand it but looking back, I cherish the time I had with my new child and husband alone.

Today as I sit watching my Dad sleep and the sun coming up through the window, I know this is where I need to be.  Even if I had plans to spend the last days of summer with my six year old daughter playing, cooking, and making memories.  These memories, with my Dad, they are difficult but beautiful at the same time.

So when the plans we have are not transpiring how we planned, just look to the Lord.  His plan is probably better anyway.

Grace is a gift,

Julie

Jeremiah 29 11-12

2 thoughts on “Just when you think you have plans…..

  1. We sang “By Grace I’m Saved” in church today and as we got to the last verse, I thought of your dad.
    These are the words…
    “By grace! On this I’ll rest when dying;
    In Jesus’ promise I rejoice;
    For though I know my heart’s condition,
    I also know my Savior’s voice.
    My heart is glad, all grief has flown
    Since I am saved by grace alone.”

    Like

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

