home cooked memories


One of the things that I adore is cooking for others. It’s the one thing I can do, I feel that is beneficial to others. That home cooked meal, sitting around a table, gathered together are what memories are made of.  My Dad stated a couple days ago that his Mother could make anything taste good.  They grew up in poverty and she made the best bread he said.  His face expressed exactly how happy that memory made him. A memory that made it’s impression upon his heart by the time he was nine years old.  That’s when she passed away in childbirth.

Today, all I wanna do is cook meal after meal and bake bread for my Dad. I know it would soothe my soul somewhat, and he loves home cooked meals.  He would cherish every bite I know and perhaps the reality of life would disappear for just a moment for him.  Bringing comfort and calmness to a now upheaveled mess of what lies before him.

Unfortunately, he will probably never eat anything that isn’t liquid again. He has a stint in his esophagus.  This saddens me for various reasons.

So, now I need to find ways to bring him peace and comfort.  Perhaps praying over him, sitting quietly holding his large hand, asking him to tell me stories of his life and the lessons he learned, and playing poker with him.  Allowing him to teach his youngest daughter, in the time we have left, some things that we missed out on while I was growing up.

At this time, I feel a prayer is in order.  Won’t you pray with me.

Gracious Father,

I come to you today with a heavy heart and a need to care for one of the individuals you chose to raise me.  I ask that you send the Holy Spirit to guide me and lead me in this new journey we find ourselves on.  May I turn to you and lay the burdens and not take them back, but if I do I am grateful you are a forgiving one.  Thank you for the precious time and responsibility that is now laid upon me.  I take it with honor and I pray that I can do the work you have chosen for me to Your glory. Please give my Dad comfort and little struggle, and strength to get through the days that lie head.  May peace be found within him and fear diminished by your promise of a Resurrection. In Jesus Name, Amen.

 

This post was written last week.  I am finally publishing it today, because I can not find the words right now to express how I am feeling.  The reason is that my Dad passed away at 6:21 p.m. on 8/17/2014.  I thank you all for your prayers during his illness and know that I truly believe in prayer.  If you feel moved to, please continue to place my family and Dad’s family in your prayers.  Thank you.

 

Grace is  a gift,

Julie

 

7 thoughts on “home cooked memories

  1. Beautifully written my dear friend!! A important reminder to us all to not take our parents, or loved ones for that matter, for granted. We never know when Jesus will take them “home”.

    Like

  2. “For the kingdom of God is not a matter of eating and drinking but of righteousness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit.” Romans 14:17. While a situation like yours is not exactly what Paul was addressing here, the teaching is on point. You served much of what was needed in your dad’s last days, things that lead, maybe not to satisfaction and good filling bread here on earth, but to the Bread of Life. You did some mighty good cooking! Now he takes part in the eternal feast. You will too. Come, Lord Jesus.

    Like

  3. Oh Julie…
    My heart goes out to you in your grief. Even knowing the promise of the resurrection, it is hard to be separated by death- it was never meant to be this way. Be kind to yourself in your sadness- and may God comfort you in His promises. It will not always be this way.

    Come Lord Jesus
    Emily

    Like

  4. Dad’s are a special gift from Our Heavenly Father! They take care of us and love us and guide our ways. When they are old and can no longer care for themselves it is so sad. That is why our Heavenly Father gave them children. It is our turn to care and increase our love and help guide them in the ways God would have them go. It is a special privilege we have. The bonds of family grow stronger in our time of love and care. So many memories flood my mind and senses every day of the time I had with my Dad while he was here on earth. Now I think of him in heaven surrounded by all those who have gone before. I sense his joy as he walks with Jesus wearing a crown of life. I know one day we will be reunited and that gives me a sure hope and peace. My prayer for you is for Our Heavenly Fathers to surround you with his arms and give you His peace and comfort! Blessings to you and your family.

    Like

  5. How beautifully you expressed your love for your dad. May the time you had together bring you comfort and may you know the peace from God that passes all understanding. Thinking and praying for you in this time.

    Like

  6. Julie, I am so sorry for your loss! You are in my prayers this week. Reading your blogs, it seems like you got to spend some precious days with him that will hopefully bring you comfort in the future. May our Lord bring you peace in some form, even if it might take awhile to come.You are in my heart tonight.
    Marifaith

    Like

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

