Field Trips, Twinkies, & Ding Dongs


As I was driving today, the Dj’s on the radio were talking about how schools are not taking field trips as much as they used to.  This is due to the expense of the field trips.  Instead they are going to start taking VIRTUAL field trips.

Yes, you read that right. VIRTUAL FIELD TRIPS.

When I heard that I went into a small panic and it took me back to my childhood days of field trips.  To be honest, it wasn’t the actual field trips I love necessarily.  This my friends, this is where my love for Ding Dongs and Twinkies came from.

See, in our home we didn’t have much for pop or candy or treats of that sort.  But when it was field trip time, that was a special occasion!  We got to take a sack lunch and Mom seem to always buy Ding Dongs and Twinkies.  That was the only time we ever got them.  I couldn’t imagine a field trip without them! I know what you are probably thinking, get a life Julie.  They are packed full of crappy ingredients that will slowly kill you and add pounds to your backside, but still they hold a precious spot in the category of my heart for food. I can not deny it, even today I may or may not be able to finish an entire box on my own.  Just sayn’!

Back to the virtual field trip, I mean really?  Skype is great for seeing family that lives far away, but I don’t think you can pickup a leaf and crunch it in your hand, feed a goat, or pet a rabbit through a screen.  Some things just need to stay reality, not go virtual.

And all brown bag lunch sacks should have either a Ding Dong or Twinkie in them!

I’m stepping off my soapbox now.  Carry on!

Grace is a gift,

Julie

 

Ding Dongs or Twinkies

2 thoughts on “Field Trips, Twinkies, & Ding Dongs

  1. I love knowing this about you! Seriously though…when I was teaching in Colorado, we took the kids on one field trip a month. We so valued that time and we tried to go to places that our student’s families (most of whom were fairly poor) wouldn’t go. I remember taking my second graders to see a three hour opera. Some loved it, some not so much, but there we all better for having that experience.
    One of the things I did not love about my children’s time in their previous classroom setting was the number of field trips (1…maybe 2) and the fact that parents were never asked to go. Made me sad.
    Yes. To all of it. A soapbox worth standing on!

    Like

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

