Free Will


I had a friend recently post on Facebook questioning why God allowed little children and women to die in such a horrific way.  She tagged a couple other ladies and myself in the post because she felt that we were the most faithful ones she knew.  Although I felt flattered, I also felt much fear and uncertainty as to how to answer her.  I am not new to the Christian faith but I’m definitely no scholar or even read the entire bible (yet).  So I did what I knew best, I reached out to my close friends that help me on a regular basis in my faith journey.  I had some thoughts on it, but I am not so confident in the way I should explain things.  I was able to think on it, pray on it, and respond.

Then this week in bible study, (which you can read more about here) sparked some thought as well.  We went through the daily lessons and then we come to the group discussion pages.  We do these together, although since I lead, I like to do them ahead of time.  This aids me in keeping the conversation going and not have any surprises in front of me. I write my answers down, when it came time to review that together, I didn’t really share too much from my personal answer. I wasn’t ready.  I will generalize it now to make my point.

The question was this:  Have you ever struggled with receiving comfort if you believed God caused your discomfort?  What was the result?

There is only one time, for a short period, that I felt I was upset with God regarding a matter.   I was in therapy dealing with something that occurred to me in my childhood and I couldn’t understand why God didn’t intervene, when it was happening. This terriable act was occurring in childhood and why wouldn’t he stop it if he loved me so much?    Through Christian counseling I came to find the answer, and I think it would be an adequate answer for my friend’s question as well.  The lesson this week also touched on it.

Free will.

If God had chosen to intervene and stop the painful things that were happening, He would have been taking away our free will.  Not just my opponents but my free will and your free will and others free will.

It’s not easy to wrap my head around, its not neat and pretty. But it’s reality. God gave us free will.  It’s a blessing to us but it’s not always easy when you are the recipient of hurtful or damaging or painful things.  Lucky for me I was able to work through it, heard God’s word, and have others that could help me learn and accept.

If you are in a situation or have been in a situation that you are struggling with, know you are not alone.  Know that although it’s painful, God will not leave you.  He will help heal the wounds that have been embedded into your body, mind, and soul. He is the one true comforter.

Today I am closing with the following bible verse. I hope you find it encouraging.

 ” I will not leave you comfortless; I will come to you.” John 14:18 KJV

Grace is a gift,

Julie

6 thoughts on “Free Will

  1. Thank you so much for the article.

    OT Joseph is an example of God allowing people to use their free will to harm Joseph. Yet the story concludes, not with Joseph ruined. Rather, by being bound to God’s will, Joseph is elevated and his brothers, who did indeed mean it for harm, are saved from starvation and death. Jesus reminds his disciples, “Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you. Matthew 5:11-12 ESV

    The Christian who remembers that they are bound to God and His will by the blood of Christ will not soon be swayed by the sometimes reckless free will that humans exert in this world. Indeed, grace is a gift, and I need it daily. We struggle now, we rejoice forevermore.

    Like

  2. Think about it, pray on it, then answer. Good strategy Julie. If only we did this before answering all life’s questions?
    It’s a hard topic. And it’s hard to wrap one’s mind around. It reminds me of a cartoon picture I saw sometime back of an atheist talking to Jesus. The atheist is yelling at Jesus, “How could you let all this murder, and thievery, and lying, and torture happen?” Jesus calmly looks at his and says, “I was just about to ask you the same thing.”
    Blessings,

    Like

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

