That Day of Return


I chose to take my morning walk by the country church we attend. As I arrived, the sun was just beginning to peak out. I made my way a couple of times from the parsonage to the cemetery and that is when the inspiration began.

Walking in front of the cemetary my thoughts found their way to that day of return. The day Jesus will return , and what that might look like. Facing the west I stopped and let images fill my mind of  believers raising and ascending with him. Of glory and no pain and love like no other.

“And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going.”  John 14: 3-4

cementary tree 

Until today I don’t think I truly allowed any type of  image to enter my mind of His return. The image brought within me a bundle of  joy.   A joy I know is nothing compared to what I will feel on that day.
As I looked to the east the sun was a beautiful image with the country church before me.  My walk began again and so did my thoughts. This brought within me inspiration and ideas began to flood my mind.  Ideas fir 2015 on how the board of mission I serve on can bring excitement about Jesus not only to our congregation but others. How we,  as a church can reach out to others to share the Word. So there are more of us on that day of return.  

How can I, as an individual in this world express my enthusiasm for the love of Christ with others?  How can I be a reflection of God’s love? When these thoughts came to mind, I had to giggle to myself.  Because the image that coincided with them was of me standing in front of our church congregation shouting “It’s OK to get excited about Jesus! Let’s DO THIS!” That might be a little much, so I better start on a smaller scale! 🙂  I’m a work in progress you know!

I’m excited and maybe a tad scared. But with practice I/we can share the story of Jesus. With each bible study class, worship service, discussions with Pastor and other believers, more deliveries of food donated, cards sent to visitors, and outreach gatherings in our communities we will become better.  WE CAN DO THIS!  

To everyone:

We can keep our doors, our gates, our hearts closed.

Closed gate

But the true joy comes when we open all of them and invite Jesus in.  Inviting others as well to join us.

open gate

 

“My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”   Psalm 73:26

 

Grace is a  gift,

Julie

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

