The God of All Comfort – Lesson 5- Sharing Comfort


God of All Comfort

Before beginning this lesson today I want to come clean.  I struggled this week.  Not necessarily with the lesson but just with life in general, so my focus was not the best as I did this lesson or led it this past Monday night.  I pray I can share God’s word today in a manner that He would be proud of.  I pray you get something from it as well.

“Through Christ we share abundantly in comfort too.”  2 Corinthians 1:5

The story in this lesson is of a mother that is dealing with the fact that her son was being deployed to Iraq.  I’m sure there are many mother’s that can relate.  The closest I have ever came was when my son-in-law was deployed to Afghanistan.  My heart ached for him and for my daughter, and I prayed daily for them both.  Our mother in our story felt that unless her every thought was on her son in Iraq, she wasn’t doing her part.  With every news report, dream she had, funeral song with 21 gun salutes she hear, they all made her worry all the more.  She felt alone, and that she had to stay strong in a time she was low. The mother had endured a loss of another child, through a miscarriage.  She knew what it felt like to lose a child and she didn’t want to go through that again.

Comfort comes abundantly, and it is sometimes provided via friends, family, or a new group of people.  She didn’t feel that any of her immediate friends and family could relate to her situation, they hadn’t been in one like it before.  Although those people meant well, it was difficult for them to comfort her to the extent that was needed.  We know that there is no greater comfort than from God.

As we have touched on before in this bible study, experience with a situation makes us better to assist others at similar things.  We become more understanding and empathic, learn what not to say and what to do.  We can review Job’s story (Job 2) to see that his friends started out meaning well and then took a path of non comfort.  Have you ever had someone who meant well but then took a turn and you were unsure how to deal with what they offered?  I’m sure I have, it’s difficult to be the one to offer comfort at times, but we must continue to try.

One of the bible verses that I fell in love with while this week’s lesson is below.  We can take this one and when we feel we are beaten down focus on it.

Psalm 73:26 ” My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

In our lesson, the mother was blessed to find a prayer group of other mothers in the same situation.  God had provided her with a safe place to share her feelings, fears, and help others in her own time of need.  Do you have a place you find to be of comfort with others like this?  It’s a benefit in life and it also grows our ability to comfort others I believe.  The other important thing is to take time to spend in prayer and devotion daily.  The author reminds us “establishing a time establishes WHO the priority is.” 

Psalm 19:14 “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord my rock and my redeemer.”

As the mother made her way through this difficult journey, with each newscast the tears fell.  God’s comfort abounds during these times.  Remembering his Word is essential.

2 Corinthians 1:5 “For as sufferings of Christ abound in us, so our consolation also abounds through Christ.”

As we finish today let us remember that holding close to the God of All Comfort is what makes our lives doable.  He brings us overflowing strength and guidance.  We should make a connection daily, surround ourselves with believers, aid others, and love much.

Please pray with me.

God of all mercy,

Thank you for opportunities to grow our relationship with you, even if it means we must endure pain.  The comfort you provide withstands all that comes our way, we only need to open our hearts to you.  May the hurt, worried, and grieving people of this world find You as their source of life and come to know true comfort.  Thank you for the protection of our loved ones, guidance in our troubles, and love in our daily life.  In Jesus Name, Amen

 

Grace is a gift,

Julie

 

 

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

