Parenting 26 years & this is a new one for me.


I remember the brown brick building. To me,  a small child it was so very huge. I also remember that we periodically had fire drills. We would all run outside, away from the building!. Or how about those tornado drills, where the loud noise would occur and we would all run to the locker rooms for safety!

This past week  my daughter’s teacher had to “delicately” speak to her class about the drill her school would be performing the next day. I also received an email updating me on this and an alert call (automatic call) from the principal explaining what would occur.

Lock Down Drill.

That’s what my first grader (six year old) daughter and her generation get to practice. Oh sure, they practice the fire and tornado drills too. But this one, it just makes me sick to my stomach that they have to have these types of drills.

Don’t get me wrong, I want them to be safe and prepared but I just wish this was not happening. I wish during bedtime devotions where the topic was about “worry” her answer to the question wasn’t “I worry about lockdowns.”
I wish I could promise her that it won’t happen in our little town or home or community or church.

But I can’t do that. I can’t promise her any of those things anymore in this world, this society. All I can do is hug her and have her explain what she learned. Re-interate that yes you need to go to the closet, and be very quiet. I also added a key thing, that isn’t allowed to be said in public schools anymore.

PRAY. Pray silently, God can hear you. Pray for safety. Pray for the intruder, but pray. She looked at me and didn’t say much. I went on to say that in the world today there is alot sin and although we try to be safe, sometimes things like this happen.

She didn’t want to talk about it anymore. It frightened her. So I just finished our devotion, prayed, and held her for abit. Knowing that as each day goes by, her innocence is decreasing and the intruder moments are surrounding life.

I never had to talk to my two older daughters about this type of thing. I’m sure it occurred, they are in their twenties, but in that short time period this is a new one on me in this parenting gig.

So I will do the same as my daughter. Pray. I will just continue to pray for safety.

Grace is a gift,
Julie

 

Proverbs 3 5-6

One thought on “Parenting 26 years & this is a new one for me.

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

