Transition update – November


 

It has been awhile since I blogged about the transition into primarily staying at home verses working outside the home. I thought now would be a good time to do that.

I’m more at peace, that is for sure. I feel less hectic and in a hurry. I feel more focused on the things that matter. I feel good most of the time about our decision.

I also know that my mindset is in a process of transition as well. Remembering that my spouse is the one that leaves the home to work a job that is physically demanding means that when he comes home I can’t expect him to mop the floors and cook me dinner.  Although we used to share these things and others, I find myself doing them more.  I do still work part time but it’s on my schedule, primarily from home, and it’s not out in whatever Kansas weather might be occuring on that day.  I’m lucky, I get more time with our daughter and I get to do more of the things I enjoy than he does.  I also get to go with him as he farms on some of those days and help him.  So right now, my life is pretty good.

Also I know in the next couple months I will have to adjust even more. Seriously taking that budget and living by it. It’s been a blessing to be able to ease into this new position in life. I also know that I will have to figure out ways to fill some time, that in the winter I struggle with seasonal “down” moods. My goal there is to keep moving, somehow move each day to keep my mentality in good shape. I can do this and I can make this work for my family because it’s the right thing for our family.

In asking my youngest daughter about my new position, she states that she likes it. She states that I yell less and play with her more.

That said… it was the right choice for us right now.

Grace is a gift,
Julie

 

 

2 thoughts on “Transition update – November

  1. Julie,

    Work/job/home transitions are big ones. I have been home with J full time for a little over 2 years. I enjoy the work, most of the time. Checking calving cows all night during blizzards does make for a lot of extra work. J and I get along pretty good, but there is a learning curve to working together. I’m not big or strong and some days I can’t seem to keep up with J, but I am out there., We get the task at hand done and move on.

    We have to do the best we can at a given time with the information we have at that time. If it doesn’t work we need to be open minded enough to admit that too. I hope things continue to go well for you and your family!

    Liked by 2 people

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

