Storing Up


Along with some holiday treat making this morning I decided the day had come to clean out one of my kitchen cabinets.  One that has needed cleaned out for quite some time.  It’s not even my pantry, that area of the home should  next on the list tho!  This is the upper cabinet that sits next to my stove.  It holds anything from spices to oils to baking ingredients to pancake mix to cookie decorating stuff.  You get the idea I’m sure.

I pulled everything out and as I did, I noticed how I had many duplicates of things.  As you can tell by the photo below, I either have a great fondness for various types of salts or I don’t look in my cabinets before shopping.  Oh and let’s not forget about the tapioca. (I don’t even eat tapioca – imagine me making a really yucky face right now!)

Storing Up

You are probably wondering where I am going with this.  Well, as I cleaned out I decided that there is a fact I must come to terms with about myself.

I am afraid I will run out.  Plain and simple.

In fact, if you look in my pantry you will  probably find 3 types of flour and at least 1,  if not 2 bags of each.  Pasta – buy in bulk.  Cereal – buy at Sam’s when you get there even if you have 3 boxes at home!

Honestly, I think it comes from growing up with less. (Which isn’t a bad thing, especially these days.) We never went hungary, that’s the wierd thing.  But I always have been like this, making sure to “buy ahead” and not to run out.  Is it a lack of faith in something?  A lack of faith that my Lord will feed me?  That doesn’t make me look very good does it?

So, whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.   1 Corinthians 10:31

Some of the items were way out of date, like years.  So, they were disposed of but the question is, will I replace what doesn’t need replaced just to try to feel safe?

Grace is a gift,

Julie

 

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

