Handwritten Letter to my Spouse


 

If you follow me on Instagram you noticed a handwritten letter that was addressed to my husband on Ash Wednesday.  I had not planned to write a letter that day, much less to my husband.  It came to mind on that very morning that I had not chosen anything to give up or start new for Lent.  I feel like 2015 has been a year of new starts and challenges for me so I was a little bit afraid to take another one on.

But, the longer I thought about it the more I was moved to give up a habit that has placed my marriage in a vulnerable state. No concerns, we aren’t heading for divorce, that’s not an option here.   In my sinful way I have done this almost daily for a long time.   I don’t believe it means I love my spouse any less.  It just means that the evil has setup occupancy.  Prayer and being in God’s word has lessened this sin from occurring in the past six months, but there is always room to improve.   So I took it upon myself to give up and start new all in one swoop!

I wrote a letter to my husband explaining my intentions, my commitment, and that I hoped that the new start would continue way past the Lenten season.  He finally received the letter late in the day after I had gone to bed.  As I’ve mentioned before my husband is a man of few words.  He didn’t say much but I could tell the words I spoke in that letter moved him.  It made a difference already, and it had only been a few hours since the ink was placed upon the lined notebook paper.

I fail – a lot.  I succeed – a lot.  I try to be honest and giving.  But there is always the sin in me, so reflecting inward can be beneficial.  I think this is good for not only myself but all of us.  To take a few moments and see if it isn’t truly something we are doing that’s causing an issue at hand.  Look first at myself before the other.  This is hard for me but I do try.

Is there a relationship that needs mending or habit you need to rein in?  Is there challenges you can’t conquer that you need some help with?  Take a few moments, write things down if it helps, or ask an objective friend.  You aren’t alone, you are never alone.  God is with you.

Grace is a gift,

Julie

 

 

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

