Katharine & 1 Peter


I recently read Kitty, My Rib by E. Jane Mall. It is a story about Katharine Luther, she was Martin Luther’s wife. I will come back to her in a moment.

Kitty My Rib

As I began my devotions today, the bible verse was 1 Peter 2:22-25.

22 He committed no sin, neither was deceit found in his mouth. 23 When he was reviled, he did not revile in return; when he suffered, he did not threaten, but continued entrusting himself to him who judges justly. 24 He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By his wounds you have been healed. 25 For you were straying like sheep, but have now returned to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls.

This particular section of the bible is speaking of Jesus and submission of authority. In the notes section of my bible it further explains in verse 23 “he relied on His Father, who will justly punish the wicked and reward the righteous. When I read that, a particular section of the book Kitty, My Rib came to mind. Here it is.

When Katharine became ill after Luther’s death and was in bed for some time, they hired a lady to come in to help with the boarders they had. The story tells that the employee had been stealing. When Katharine came to know this news she sent this person on their way, without calling the authorities. I found that quite interesting. Knowing me I would have called the authorities. Her son wanted to contact the authorities and Katharine response was as follows.

“No, Paul. I talked to her. She’s in God’s hands. We’re rid of her. That’s all I care about.”

She’s in God’s hands.  So true for all of us isn’t it? The sin in all of us is ever present and only Jesus was sin-less. We sin ourselves yet point fingers at others. Jesus took on so much for us and didn’t complain at all. Today alone I complain about how my body is feeling, while Jesus had nails placed in his body. I needed that visual to remind me just how easy it is to fall to that level.

Jesus left it up to God to take care of the unjust and sinners. Perhaps we should too in circumstances. I am not saying we do not need laws or punishment, especially in major crimes, but what really matters in life? Is it the broken heart from an ex, a lovely piece of jewelry, and twenty dollars in our wallet or that unkind exchange with a family member that has left the relationship as nothing but hatred?

Focusing on the bad things that have occurred isn’t allowing God to prevail. Yes work through them but let’s not sit in them for longer than need be, dwelling on the negative. When we are sinners ourselves who are we to deny another sinner the gift given to all? We all have been given this gift, let’s unite and show how God’s forgiveness through Jesus Christ can bring to their lives just as it has to ours. Let’s be like in Katharine’s story and choose to leave judgment up to God.

Grace is a gift,

Julie

2 thoughts on “Katharine & 1 Peter

    1. Jennifer, I am glad you enjoyed the message. It is difficult for me and writing helps me to be accountable. Life is hard at times and we really don’t understand why bad things happen to good people and so many others things but we know that the strength we all need comes from God. Thanks for commenting !

      Like

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

