Limitations


Limitations.

I’m currently dealing with some.

One of them is a bladder disorder called interstitial cystitis, you can read more about it in this post.   I’ve lived with for many years and although it isn’t going to kill me, it can be a painful and life changing thing to have.

The most recent one has to do with my left leg.  You have heard me mention it in my Weight-less Wednesdays occasionally.  The time finally arrived that I could not ignore what my body was trying to tell me for a few months.  I found myself frustrated and unhappy that I couldn’t even walk with much quickness without pain in my left leg.  My current limitation is that I can’t walk more than 15 minutes at a time for exercise. I normally walk an hour a day.  I am disgruntled with this but I know that it is best for now.

walking

Limitation of money. This is one that has arrived in our household due to the fact that I do not work full-time any longer.  The fact that there is additional expense due to my recent injury as well, digs a little deeper into the pockets.  But the satisfaction of seeing my daughter off the bus, visiting with her right after, feeling a peace in life, and being able to help others through volunteering more means this one is doable.

These limitations that I could be getting extremely down about, but today I choose to accept them.  I choose to look at them as minor limitations in a life full of blessings.  I can still walk, bend over, giggle with my kid and grandkids, cook for my family, sit in a church pew, visit with friends, sing and hang out with family.  My life has a few limitations that will not occupy my existence in primary.  They will not be the first or last thing that others will remember me by.

Blake.  He was a young man I was fortunate enough to get to know during his high school years.  He brought strength, inspiration, and laughter with each meeting of our youth group.  Along with that he loved football and had a smile that was super!  When you saw him he was in a wheel chair, for he had muscular dystrophy.  But that’s not what he left behind when he passed away at 22.  He left behind a legacy of strength, inspiration, and endurance for others to look to.  He is who I think of when I am getting down about my own limitations.  Mine is nothing like what he had to endure, not even remotely close.

Thinking of Blake helps me gather my strengths and place them in the forefront of my life to be an example of endurance, strength, peace, and hope.  I pray I can be the example to others that one can make a difference, along with making the world a better place. Also that your limitations don’t have to run your life or ruin your spirit.

So.  My question is,  are you allowing limitations to take you where you don’t want be?

Grace is a gift,

Julie

 

One thought on “Limitations

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

