Crankiness of a Christian


This past week I have not been a very kind person in my household.  I have been crabby, irritable, quick-tempered, and just plain ol’ not fun to be around!  When something would occur that I didn’t plan or hope for or was asked to participate in I was quick to say things that were nothing remotely close to nice.

I could blame it on the lack of sleep I have gotten due to daylight savings, or the dog barking at coyotes, or phone calls when I had just fallen asleep.  But none of these are really good excuses.  They may be factors but they are not good enough reasons for me to treat the ones I love the most like crap. My husband should have put me in timeout away from people!

On Tuesday I prayed during my devotion time what I thought was pretty hard asking God to help me rid of this crankiness and change my attitude. He began working in me I could tell because throughout that day I found pleasure, joy, and peace. But as evening came closer the crankiness resurfaced.  Snipping at my spouse, no patience with the six-year-old, etc.   I needed something to smack me upside the head!

Then on Wednesday I awoke and felt better rested.  I had gained the sleep I needed and would be able to walk 3 times I hoped.  (That really does help my mentality folks!)

As you know from my Weight-less Wednesday’s posts, I jump on the scale on that day!  Yes I had a weight-loss but I was disappointed it was less than a pound. After a bit of sulking I told myself it was still a loss and that I couldn’t do my regular walking routine the past week.  I think some of the disappointment was I had really stuck to watching my calorie intake and the result wasn’t much.  Then I told myself that it was probably a little water weight gain cause of the two turkey hot dogs and tater tots I ate for supper the night before! 😉 Yes I really do say these things in my head.

Luckily I felt myself relax even more as I drove my daughter to school and it felt great to be able to walk for 20 minutes!  My mind was good and I was on a change for the better!  I came home to do my daily devotion time and found the scripture so very inviting.  The Portals of Prayer that went with it was just the medicine I needed!

Matthew 11: 25-30 

Come to Me, and I Will Give You Rest

25 At that time Jesus declared, “I thank you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that you have hidden these things from the wise and understanding and revealed them to little children; 26 yes, Father, for such was your gracious will.7 27 All things have been handed over to me by my Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son chooses to reveal him. 28 Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

By the time I finished my prayer time I found myself feeling throughout my entire body very good.  As a sinful being it is hard to remember to stop, think, and separate myself when I’m not so lovely.  My place to find rest is in the Lord.  Perhaps I should teach my spouse and daughter to just say “Matthew 11:25-30” when I am not being kind.  That will be a good reminder for me don’t you think?

I asked for forgiveness and did receive it.  You have this gift as well from the Lord that offered so much to all of us.  If you haven’t accepted Jesus Christ as your Savior I invite you to.  Your life will become more than you imagined it could be.

Grace is a gift,

Julie

pushingforwardwith grace flower

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

