A Work In Progress: Responsibilty- Session A


A Work In Progress

 

The bible study I attend has begun once again.  I have so very much missed it.  Not only the connection of Sisters in Christ but being in the Word with others.  This brings about learning for me and accountability at the same time.  I know the season is busy for everyone’s lives but this is something in my life that helps me live better. I am grateful for the opportunity to participate in it and to be leading this session.

The bible study we are doing is A Work In Progress (A Scriptural Course toward Self-Improvement) by Carla Krazl.  We started session A last Monday and after completing it I find I really like it.  The simplicity of this study aided us in bringing current events into our discussions.  It is thought-provoking, yet laid back, and it inspires a response from participates.  I look forward to sharing it with you every Monday here at Pushing Forward with Grace. ( This week is a couple of days late.)

Session A  – Responsibility

” With great power comes great responsibility.”

The beginning brought basic questions about  what it means to be responsible and what we are responsible for.  Then it moved to society’s expectation of God and can society expect God to be responsible.

I personally had never thought about God being responsible to anyone.  It was one of those moments that took me back.  Then I read further to find He is the almighty God and superior to no one.

We read about what God is responsible for.

“Look to the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them.”  Matthew 6:26

“Cast your burden on the Lord, and He will sustain you; He will never permit the righteous to be moved.”” Psalm 55:22

He provides.  He takes care of us.  That is what we should keep in mind daily.

God’s expectation of us

“For each will have to bear his own load.”  Galatians 6:5

We are never alone though, He is with us like I stated before.  The study then broke out six categories of responsiblity which sparked much conversation in our group.

  • Legal – God’s Law superseding man’s law.
  • Moral – Plan ahead.
  • Family – Treat with respect and honor.  (The two are not the same, look up their definitions.)
  • Community – Speak to build up, not tear down
  • Faith – Guard it, share it.
  • Personal – Fulfill your potential.

To further learn more on each category I highly recommend you complete this bible study.  I could see myself doing it alone or in a group, either way it is a great reminder of how life should be lived.

At the end it asked what category I felt I could give more attention to. I chose legal.  I feel I ignore the political arena and although I do vote, I need to educate myself better.  I need to be more conscious of what I believe in and what I am voting for.  I will work on this area of my life.

Each session ends with a prayer.  This closes each session being present with God in prayer which brings us to be more intimate with Him.  It brings us to a place of lifting up others and ourselves to Him.  Won’t you pray with me today?

Heavenly Father,

Our responsibilities often seem to weigh us down and continue to get more in life.  We ask that you give us strength to be responsible and ask you for help.  May we help others with their struggles and accept when offered from others.  Your responsibility to us is but a gift, it brings us daily life and strength.  May we follow you all the days of our lives.  In Jesus Name,  Amen

 

Grace is a gift,

Julie

 

 

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

