Baptismal Birthdays


Yesterday was my youngest daughter’s baptismal birthday.  For those of you that are not aware of what baptism is I’d like to explain that first.  Our family is of the Lutheran Missouri Synod church, and infants are baptized.

Baptism is done with water.  But the water does not become baptismal waters until God’s command and His Word are combined.  The ordained Pastor takes the infant and holds them, which is a blessing within itself, and proceeds with the ceremony.  It’s a beautiful thing to witness or be a part of.

You might be wondering why infants are baptized.  We are all born sinners and infants are also offered the same thing as adults.  The promise and command of God.  The opportunity to die with Christ and be risen with Christ. 

1 Peter 321

My daughter’s baptism occurred on May 11, 2008.  with our church family present, her Sponsors/God Parents, the Pastor, our oldest children, and other family. We all witnessed her becoming a child of God.   She was baptized in the same church my husband had been in 1966.  Every time I see a baptism now it makes my heart feel full and glad.  It also takes me back to this day.  That day was Mother’s day in 2008, so it was a special one for both of us.  

2015 Baptismal Bday
She requested Chocolate Chip Muffins for breakfast & Spaghetti for supper on her Baptismal Birthday this year.

 

 

Most Sundays we spend in a pew in that same church worshiping God with our church family.  Although my child has wonderful extended family that loves her to death and would do anything for her, she also has her church family.  This church family more than likely would do the same thing and they also teach her about God.  She spends lots of time there, not just on Sundays.  Our family is fortunate that in times of struggle or joy we have a larger than normal family which includes our congregation.  

What I am trying to say is that by building a relationship with God and our church family, it has brought so much more to our lives than I expected.  I feel loved every time I am surrounded by those that help my daughter follow the Christian path and I know she does too.  Having a church family helps us stay accountable, grows our joy in life, and gives us strength, and teaches us often. 

As you know, I wasn’t raised Lutheran Missouri Synod, and I did belong to other churches in my life.  I don’t regret the path I have been on in my Christian journey, but I know I am extremely glad I have landed where I have. God’s plan.

Grace is a gift,

Julie 

 

One thought on “Baptismal Birthdays

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

