Roadtrip – Blueberries, Donuts, and Quality Family Time!


I’m starting this post as I am traveling on the open road with my hubs and youngest daughter.  Since it is too wet for my farmer husband to do what he loves we decided to get some fun family time in! The main reason is here shortly we will not see much of him for a couple of weeks when things do get busy with wheat harvest and fall crop planting!

We traveled 2 1/2 hours to pick blueberries. We were rained on but that didn’t matter to me. I loved it! Picking fresh fruit, time with the family, and seeing the beauty God created is so full filling! I highly recommend it!

 

Blueberry Picking

After the blueberry picking we headed to an apple cider mill / country store. I had been there last fall and enjoyed the donuts they make a great deal!  They didn’t have their equipment running today but we stocked up on some goodies and I explained how they made the cider in the buildings.

apple cider donut

Then we just headed down the open road!  We ended up stopping at a park and eating our picnic lunch.  Dad and daughter checked out the museum on premises.  Then we just made our way home and stopped at a Wal-Mart to stock up on canning supplies for me! 🙂

We picked 21.5 pounds of blueberries.  I will freeze most of them, make a cobbler or desserts, and perhaps make some jam or jelly.  I will be busy the next few days because I also have enough strawberries in the refrigerator for two batches of jam as well.

Blueberries

I am currently watching the local orchards for blackberries.  I love me some blackberries!  They should be ready in the next couple weeks from what I can tell.  We have a blackberry bramble of our own but I need more than it produces to make jam.

It is both my husband and mine busy season I realized today.  He has crops to harvest and plant and I have picking and jam making to do.  Our lives are busy but hopefully with this being the first summer I’m home full-time it will go smoothly.

So, how did you spend your Saturday?  What is your favorite type of jam or jelly?  Comment below and let me know!  Happy weekend!

Grace is a gift,

Julie

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

