Momma (Self Needing) Breaks


As most of you know, I worked full-time most of motherhood.

Professional photo

I became a stay at home farm wife/mother last August.

pv and i 2014

Our daughter is seven so she was in school until the end of May.  I found myself lonely at times while she was in school but it also gave me a chance to have time to figure out some things in my personal life I needed to. I’m grateful for that time and the ability to finally after so many years replenish.

Now that my daughter has been out of school about a month and has spent basically every day with me I am feeling I need a break.  First, don’t judge me.  I am a good mother, I do work hard for my family, and yes my daughter is not a toddler so I should be fine.  But I know myself and the irritability that is making an appearance that should not be.  I know at least some of my limits.  I know that right now I am going through a change that factors in on my reactions.  I know that admitting I need a slight break, just an evening out with friends or time alone away from home is needed.  It’s also not the end of the world.  In fact, I’m pretty sure my daughter will benefit from the “momma break”.

For those of you that have children at home, whether you work full-time or stay home,  do you feel you need a break periodically?  Do you factor these in on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis?   Even when I worked I would need “momma or self refreshing breaks”.  I just didn’t take them enough because I felt it made me look weak.

There is a balance in my life that I am coming to finally find and apply. It a slow but sure process. One of dedication to my family, one to dedication to myself, and primarily my dedication to God.  Recently a friend of mine repeated several times in conversation how things should be to the Glory of God.  Every thing we do, whether it be picking up the toys, figuring bills and paying them, farming, doing laundry, hugging our child, taking them to piano lessons, or any other thing.  I needed that reminder and I like that God used this particular friend to do just that.

As a mother and wife, I do almost all of the household and family things in our home now.  I also have been the lucky wife that had a spouse that split more of the household duties and baby/child duty.  Either way I needed a break from time to time.   I am not embarrassed by this any longer.  I will step away so as my family can bask in my refreshed mindset and gratitude of them.

Photo is owned by Julie V. and use or duplication is not allowed without written permission of the owner of this blog.
Photo is owned by Julie V. and use or duplication is not allowed without written permission of the owner of this blog.

Glory be to the Father!

Grace is a gift,

Julie

2 thoughts on “Momma (Self Needing) Breaks

  1. Yo, Jesus took breaks too! Matthew 14:23 “And after he had dismissed the crowds, he went up on the mountain by himself to pray. When evening came, he was there alone,”

    Then He returned to the tasks at hand. Blessings on moments of solitude.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

