Fiery or Flowing Love Tongue


Inspiration for my post today came from a bible study I attended.  The title of the study was “How Can I Control My Tongue.”  We visited the book of James and discussed this well and in a respectful manner.  Opinions did vary but mostly grounded in the same foundation.  God.   It was an experience I delighted in and really didn’t want to end.  Soaking up The Word and being surrounded by women of faith is just something that I am needing these days.  I am grateful that God had this in His plans for me.

Now to the topic at hand.  My Tongue.  The little part of my body that can do so much good and so much damage depending on another part of my body.  The section of my brain that runs the emotions.  When my emotions get the best of me I can either bring one up or I can bring one down!  James 3:5-6 brought this into my thinking.

“So also the tongue is a small member, yet it boasts of great things. How great a forest is set ablaze by such a small fire! And the tongue is a fire, a world of unrighteousness. The tongue is set among our members, staining the whole body, setting on fire the entire course of life, and set on fire by hell.”

Try as I may, I’m sure I offend people at times and I know I say and think things that are not ok.  Whether it stem from my perception of a hot topic, opinion of service I was given, the rules of a denomination, or even the choices of my children of recent.

Fiery Tongue

I don’t wake  in the morning thinking, “who can I offend today?”  Really I do not, but it happens.  I’m a sinner.  My hope is that I choose my words carefully and at the end of the day in my “recollection moment” it holds more good than bad.

But when I recall and the cringe makes its way upon my body what shall I do? Roll over, get comfy, and just fall asleep?   Nah. I better do some praying.  Praying for forgiveness.  Then figure out if it’s substantial and find a way to rectify my mistake.  Asking for forgiveness from my Lord is easier than the second from past experience.  GLORY TO GOD ON THE HIGHEST!

Romans 7:25 and 8: 1-2 bring to mind the redemption and renewal process.  Take a moment to click on the links and read them.

We are, as children of God, given the gift of redemption.  We can repent our sins and move forward.  We can love others although we may not agree with their choices, their lifestyle, their opinions.  We can also talk with them and share with them in a manner that is pleasing to God. This too can be hard but is doable I believe!

Flowing love tongue

I pray that when I use my tongue it is about bringing Glory to God, even though the recipient may not agree or care at that moment. I must move forward because I may be the sower of God’s seed for His future use.  The plans of my life I do not know, but He does.  I must fear, love, and trust Him above all things.

So today may my mouth bring kindness and encouragement and keep the fiery tongue at bay!

Grace is a gift,
Julie

 

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

