Activity Options For Our Youth


8/12/2015

 

Activity Options For Our Youth

As school has begun it makes me start thinking about the things that are of importance to me and my spouse in regards to extracurricular activities for our daughter.  Up until now it has basically been church activities, softball in the summer, and girl scouts.  We added piano lessons at the beginning of 2015.

To be honest now that she is entering 2nd grade there are more options to choose from.  We are not parents that feel our child needs to be in every sport or club or extracurricular activity available to give them a valuable childhood.   So it’s time to begin choosing.

With my older children I encouraged them to try things and then decide if they wanted to pursue them any further.  To be honest by middle school, in the large community we lived, sports was not really something they pursued.  My oldest was more of the yearbook type and my middle daughter arts were her thing.  Our youngest is just starting to form interests and we hope to do this as well.

I think the main reason right now she is interested in girl scouts is due to friends that are in it.  Piano lessons, I desired for her to take and she is taking to them to some degree.   I see singing lessons perhaps in her future,  she likes music. The option of 4H is present come this fall.  Her father and I are still on the fence about this one.  More research to be done and decisions to be made.  Prayer plays a key in our decision-making as well.

No matter her participation in extracurricular activities, as parents, we feel the church activities trump any others.  I know that this will not be easy in the future to work with as today’s world feels Sundays are made for more than worship and fellowship.

Do we occasionally miss church?  Yes we do.  In fact, 12 years ago my mind was the view that a lot of people have.  Being in worship on Sunday isn’t necessary. ( For the record, my husband’s never ever has felt that way.  He feels you belong in the pew every Sunday morning) .  I now agree and he didn’t force it on me, he allowed me to figure it out on my own.  Which I hope my child will do as well with  the activities available.

The world is made up of many different types of people.  I feel that myself and my husband are more of the introverted type. Sometimes I wonder if that holds our daughter back from opportunities she is presented with.  I find benefits of both introverts and extroverts.  I don’t find one better than the other.  I also do not feel any club or sport is any better than another.  They all have their place and individuals that they work best for.

activity for our youth

It’s time to think, discuss, and pray on the upcoming year for our daughter.  Whatever the choice may God’s glory be shown in the choices we make for her and with her.

Grace is a gift,

Julie

 

2 thoughts on “Activity Options For Our Youth

  1. Let’s chat about 4-H sometime….We are one year in and I am more than happy to share our experiences with you – the things we love AND the things that we don’t.

    Like

    1. Jill

      We will visit! Her & MV are going to the September meeting to visit. She has already committed to Brownies and piano so not sure we want a third thing on top of school and church but are willing to visit and talk about it. Thanks talk to you soon!

      Julie

      Like

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

