Treasures – From a Mother


As most of you know, my mother passed away in August.  My siblings and I spent 2-3 days recently going through her house and choosing the items we wanted.  Although it was a bittersweet time, I am glad we could do it together.

Some of my favorite treasures from Mom are below. I’d like to share them with you.

Her embroidery patterns!

20150922_112121

A hankie that was one of my grandmothers.

Hankie

A partially used bottle of her perfume.

Perfume broch rings

An embroidered tea towel that my mom’s mother made.

tea towel

There were many items that were of higher dollar value, but honestly these simple things that brought Mom joy make me feel quite lucky to have them now.

I could live without any of the material items that are now mine.  I would be fine, and who knows, quite possibly better for it, but I like the idea of passing something down to the next generation.  That’s part of the beauty of this thing called death.  Not only will the material items be passed to the next generation but so will things my mother taught me in life. I already see her in my two older daughters.

Craft Projects

I’m sure when the time is right, I will sort through the incomplete craft projects and begin attempting to assemble them.  There’s joy and sadness in each project not completed by her.  On one hand I will not be able to crochet or embroider quite like her, the difference will be evident. The quilt blocks may not match up exactly and I will surely struggle.  But the opportunity to put together things that were touched by my mother’s hands will bring joy to my heart I do not doubt.

Grace is a gift,

Julie

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

