You Can Harvest Without Being a Farmer


I hope the title caught your attention enough that you are now reading this post.  I pray you will read to the end and then feel inspired to put your “harvester” mode in action!

20150615_172505

The church I belong to is a beautiful brick one that sits between fields of wheat and soybeans.  The sunsets look glorious with the cemetary in the image and you can see the stars very well as you leave a bible study on a Monday night.  The church where my family worships is in the country.  The closest town is 7 miles away.

In this church, there have been generations upon generations worshiping the Lord. There have been people who have been brought to Christ at birth, in their 20’s, 30’s, and further into adulthood than that.  People have been in the Word, making their way to the altar for the sacraments, and been washed clean at the baptismal font.  Along with those there have been many times the pews have been filled for weddings and funerals.

This church is just a building though, but it’s a building that we want to still be here for years to come.  To see many infants at the baptismal font,  witness youth confirmed, and celebrate the joys and give support in the tribulations of one another’s lives.

Honestly though, if the building were gone tomorrow we could still do what we do every time we gather there now.   We could worship the Lord our Father.  Weekly attendance is an essential part of  Christian life but don’t forget we can harvest daily anywhere. Daily living allows us to  guide others to Him every day.  Gathering those that do not know of Him and bringing them into this building that is provided is our duty isn’t it?

Please watch this inspiring music video by Brandon Heath.

 

My favorite lines from this song are the following.

For all that we’ve grown
How could we forget
Those who don’t know
Or just don’t know yet
Let’s harvest this field
From sunrise to sunset
The Master is coming
We are not done yet

Wheat 2015 - Copy

My husband is a farmer, I can relate to the sowing of seed, the small plants that turn into an amazing beauty, and the long hours it takes to bring forth enough to make our farm operate.  The dirt under his fingernails and jeans that are covered in grease repairing equipment is all in a days work.

Farver North Wheat2015

Just as he places trust in God to provide for our family and farm operation by sowing a small seed in dirt, nurturing it, and one day harvesting it, I too want to do that.

Psalm 139

Only my seed may be a note of grace, opportunity to give forgiveness, witness to someone in a pew as I take the sacraments, tell my faith journey, or share a simple bible story with others.

My hope in life is for us all to bring others to know Christ’s love.  See, a small seed was placed inside of me many years ago.  I had no clue that someday I would find myself standing in a large field that I was given this  opportunity.  I’m here and although on occasion scared, I’m ready.   Ready to sow the seeds, give some nurturing, and eventually harvest by the grace of God.

JV
After attending an event called Reaching Rural America for Christ I feel I am stronger and have been placed in this field called earth to do this work.  To help others know that they are not alone, that Christ loves them unconditionally, and that human life is precious.  The gift of Jesus as our Savior isn’t one to reject but to embrace.  Isn’t it our duty and a gift to bring others to Christ?

Our Master is coming, let’s make the best effort so that when He returns we are all together!

I can not do it alone.  Will you join me?  Choose a seed, nurture it, and then harvest it when the time comes.

Grace is a gift,

Julie

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

