The Habit of Meeting


It’s become a habit now.  One that I think I can not live without.  It’s not a bad habit but one that builds me up and makes me feel stronger in the midst of this thing called life. I’m talking about the prescense of my siblings. Where all four of us are together.

Siblings

Once again,  we had an opportunity to join together this past weekend.  The balance I feel when in their company (all four at once) is something I’ve come to long for. Perhaps it is because ti gives last  connection to both our parents or it’s just that mortality has come into play in my mind more often than not now.

These three individuals bring forth laughter, fun, strength, respect, and even some tears on occasion to my life.   They make me feel I am a better person than if they were not in my life.  I suppose I did not realize this or feel the magnitude of this when my parents were alive.  I’m 44 years old and as I ponder what my life will look like in the future, I do not foresee it ever being with any of them.

I know the day will come when we each pass on and it will be hard for sure.  I’m hoping it will be in the far future but for now I will bask in the glory of what God has provided me.  Three siblings that bring me to a better place, support me, agree to disagree at times, and love.

The bond between us is one that even my own children do not have with each other.  Each set of siblings in this world has a different bond to some degree.  Ours brought us closer for growing up in an environment not so calm yet instruction of how to work hard.  The hugs were present as we grew older and the meaning of family grew in our hearts.  The material items of our parents isn’t worth disagreeing and the opinions or actions of one another doesn’t keep us from loving one another.

We learned from example not how to bond together as siblings, but perhaps as the closeness of our examples was less than desirable we figured out what we didn’t want our relationships to look like.  Good can come from all things and I feel this was it for us.

I hope my siblings know how very much I love them, am grateful for them, and hope that we continue to meet a few times a year.   That our children and the generations thereafter know one another and hear memories of Grandma Frona and Grandpa Richard for a very long time.

If you are fortunate enough to have a sibling I encourage you to reach out to them.  Whether your relationship is spectacular, mediocre, or non-existent.  Connection brings forth something substantial to our lives, even the smallest of connection.

Grace is a gift,

Julie

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

