Down with the D #4


Written late June 2017

In May I didn’t track my food as well and to this day I am not logging it.  I’m depending on my mind.  The physical picture of what my plate should look like and the size of my snacks.  Including this with thinking about how my body feels is my go to. Remembering how I feel if I eat too many carbs in the next couple hours I keep near as well.  I still eat carbs and not always “good” ones but I’m confident in my abilities to judge my choices.

I think what made me get back on track is being put in a physically working environment. Our Kansas wheat harvest arrived around June 10th and my job was not in a cushy air-conditioned cab.  It was weighing grain trucks in the humid, hot Kansas sun. Weighing the trucks meant shoveling and sweeping grain into a pit.  So it wasn’t just sitting around. It kept my mind and body busy.  I wasn’t as hungry either, a little went a long way for me.

19023540_10209318214978446_8653595129559424726_o
If you are interested in learning about farm life go to our blog called farming grace daily

The work gave me the change and push to get back to moving more.  I am now walking and doing some challenges on my Samsung Health to motivate me.  I’m still sending my Snaps to my pals for support and moving forward.  It’s not been a perfect journey but it’s my journey.  I’m proud of where I am today but would like to move forward to better my health.

My sleep isn’t great but I just do what I can. Most days I don’t allow myself to sit at the computer or sewing machine too long.  A 15 minute walk can give someone a great deal of steps.  I’m still not at 10,000 most days but if I reach 8000 I’m happy.  I can do this and it’s not for a temporary time.  Accepting who I am, what I am doing, and where I am going is the game plan. Also having confidence in myself, that’s still a work in progress! 🙂

Down with the D #5 I will share in a couple days.  It will include my results from my six month checkup and how I  am dealing with that.

If you care to follow along just subscribe on the right side of this blog page.

Until next time!

Julie

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

