Bringing It Down – Diabetes #5 – 6 month results


July 2017

Drumroll please…….

AC1 test results December 12, 2016: 7.2

AC1 test results June 19, 2017: 5.9

HAPPY DANCE!  HAPPY DANCE!  HAPPY DANCE!

It’s amazing to me how taking my blood sugar 1- 3 times a day, monitoring my levels, eating less carbs (see I didn’t say no carbs),  and walking for exercise can make me feel better.

While in the process of reaching a goal I found that paying attention to my body and how it reacts is crucial.  When I do carb overload the way I feel physically and mentally is essential.  Do I still over eat on occasion, yes.  For sure.  More than I probably should, but as I’ve stated before I’m not rushing this.

 

I’ve lost 16 pounds since December and although I’ve been stuck at my current weight awhile I’m okay with it.  Continuing to move and 80% of the time eating the best I can is what is working for me.  My blood sugars are good and I’ve kinda leveled out where they should be.

IMG_20170719_075221_464

Is this permanent?  No.  If I slide back the other way too often or quit moving, my body will go back to where it’s been.  If I continue with high stress and lack of sleep that diabetic frenzy will show itself once again.  Which could result in me taking insulin or some sort of diabetic medication.  I DO NOT WANT THIS!

I’m lucky.  I was given an opportunity to adjust my way of living.  With Type 2 Diabetes it was determined before it got out of hand.  This is available for many with Type 2 Diabetes, the ability to make the change, but of course not all. If caught early enough makes a difference.  Annual physical and blood work is what saved me.  I’m only six months in and this will need to be taken care of for the rest of my life.

As I said earlier, at this point I do not take any medication. I hope to keep it that way for as long as possible.  I already take one medication for another condition that costs me over $350 a month, where there is no cure for it.  I struggle to get it so more expense isn’t an option.

So I spent the money for a cheap blood glucose meter, changed my eating habits, and got to moving some.  It still costs me approximately $50.00 a month for alcohol wipes, lancets,  and strips to test my blood.  My brother takes insulin and his diabetes is much worse than mine due to not being diagnosed early enough (not his fault by the way). Spending time with him recently was a reminder to me what I’m doing is important. (Even he is doing what he can to have a better life living with diabetes.)

  • It’s really up to only me.  I have to do this.
  • Having support makes things easier.
  • Choices I make today do make a difference for tomorrow.

Next six month goals

  • Walk 10,000 steps per day ( I started this last Saturday, Post # 7 talks about it)
  • Lose 7 more pounds
  • Find an exercise support buddy

I will not see Kathy until January 2018.  I hope by then to have met the goals I listed above.  Alot of the things I enjoy in life are where I am not active, I sit down.  For instance blogging, quilting, embroidery, movies, reading, and just relaxing at home.  So I have to make myself move.  This is where a committed buddy will help!  I’m off to find one! 🙂

Until next time!

Julie

 

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

