Time. It’s time to get off the mediocre train~ Bringing It Down – Diabetes #7


July 15, 2017

I decided today was the day that I would begin to walk 10000 steps a day or at least 5 out of 7 days in a row. That although I want to sit at my sewing machine and finish the quilts that I’m currently working on I have to do this.

20170703_172644

I was inspired by a Facebook post of an extended family member, this guy is pretty motivational and is open about alot in his life, so he is genuine.  I’m grateful for his posts.  It reminded me that the results I’m longing for will not happen by me going extremely slow.  That writing of my journey isn’t enough.  I have to take the next level and grasp it.  I’ve been sitting in the same spot several months now.  That’s my fault.

Here’s where I remember that fighting for me is important.  Where the life we are dealt can be grimy and yucky and beautiful and joyous.  Collecting all those experiences and wrapping them into something of your own is yours for the taking.

20170715_081537

This morning wasn’t easy.  I jumped on my husband’s bike and could only ride 5 minutes. It absolutely was not easy.  But I made myself recall when I started walking.  How far I have come in  six months in that area.    Then I went for a walk in the Kansas humidity which I sweated like no other!  I’m telling myself I sweated out that lovely dessert I indulged in the night before! 🙂 The walk was for 45 minutes.  It wasn’t a fast pace but it was a good pace.

 

steps
I can’t figure out why for the last 2 wks my fitness tracker & phone are off so much! UGH!

At late morning I was over half way to my goal of 10,000 steps.  I can do this.  I have the power to move.  I have the power to make better choices.  My blood sugar wasn’t too low but it was on it’s way as I didn’t eat enough for breakfast.  I was so “in the zone” I forgot to grab some carbs when I returned from the bike ride!  But all ended well and I snacked after my shower.

Throughout the day I was up and down.  I kept an eye on the fitness tracker and phone.  One day.  That’s all today was.  But it was one day I hit my goal.

Do you have any goals you are working towards accomplishing?  How do you keep focused?

Until next time…

Julie

 

 

One thought on “Time. It’s time to get off the mediocre train~ Bringing It Down – Diabetes #7

Share your Grace by commenting! I'd love to learn, grow, and get to know you all!

